Regardless of who was at fault, a car wreck can create a stressful situation where everyone is quick to assign blame. Following an accident, most people worry about their physical injuries, the damage to their vehicle, and whether they’ll be able to recover compensation to pay for their medical expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. But what if the accident was partially your fault?
Determining who is legally responsible for a car accident can be complicated, which is why it’s so important to consult an experienced car accident attorney early in the process.
Keep reading to learn more about how courts and attorneys evaluate negligence in the wake of a car accident and find out whether you can receive damages if your actions played a role in causing the wreck.
What Are Comparative and Contributory Negligence?
Whether you can recover damages if you’re partially at fault for a crash depends on where the collision happened. Each state has its own rules for assigning fault and determining liability in personal injury cases. The rule in Texas that applies to negligence cases is called modified comparative negligence, also known as “proportionate responsibility.”
Comparative negligence is a legal concept that holds at-fault parties liable in proportion to the extent their conduct contributed to the accident. In other words, if a court or jury determines that the plaintiff in a negligence case bears 25 percent of the responsibility for causing a wreck while the defendant was 75 percent responsible, the plaintiff can recover 75 percent of the total damages in that case.
Two-thirds of the states, including Texas, follow a variation of this rule called modified comparative fault. This rule works the same as described above, but with one twist: if the plaintiff in a case bears most of the responsibility (51 percent or more) for causing their own injuries, they can’t recover any damages at all.
In contrast, the doctrine of contributory negligence at common law holds that an accident victim can only recover damages if they didn’t contribute to the incident at all. If the victim is even 1 percent at fault for what happened, they will not be able to recover damages. This rule is extremely unfair to victims, but fortunately, our state doesn’t use it.
Proving Negligence in Texas Car Accident Cases
To successfully prove negligence in a car wreck case, a defendant must prove that the plaintiff’s reckless or otherwise unreasonable actions contributed to the collision to some degree. Examples of negligent behavior might include speeding, drunk driving, jaywalking, or driving a car that the driver knows is unsafe in some way.
As an example, if you suffered injuries in a crash, the other driver’s attorney might argue you were partially to blame because you were speeding at the time of the crash and traveling too fast to make a safe stop. If the jury agrees, they’ll assign you a percentage of fault for causing the crash and reduce your compensation by that percentage. So, if your damages total $100,000, but the jury finds you are 10 percent at fault, the maximum compensation you can receive is $90,000.
“Examples of negligent behavior might include speeding, drunk driving, jaywalking, or driving a car that the driver knows is unsafe in some way.”
RELATED BLOG ARTICLE: Law Terms: What Is Negligence?
The Benefits of Purchasing PIP Coverage in Texas
Along with retaining a skilled and experienced personal injury attorney, car accident victims can also benefit from having personal injury protection (PIP) coverage, which is a type of no-fault insurance. PIP pays the medical bills and rehabilitative costs for you and your passengers when you’re involved in a car wreck, and it does so regardless of who’s at fault for the accident.
PIP coverage can pay for costs that include:
- Most medical costs, including operations, diagnostic imaging outpatient care, and other medical treatment
- Professional nursing care
- Ambulance services
- Rehabilitation therapies
- Funeral costs
- Lost wages as a result of the accident
Although it is not required by law, drivers are permitted to carry at least PIP insurance coverage, and the coverage limit extends to each person injured in an accident. For example, if you and your child suffered injuries in a car accident, and you had $2,500 of PIP insurance in place, your insurance policy would cover up to $2,500 in expenses for you and $2,500 in expenses for your child. At Crosley Law, we recommend that our clients carry PIP insurance as well as uninsured motorist insurance (UM) to cover them if they are involved in a crash where the at-fault driver does not have insurance coverage sufficient to cover the loss.
Crosley Law: Fighting for Justice for Car Accident Victims in San Antonio
If you’ve been injured in a car wreck in Texas, you could be eligible to receive compensation even if the accident was partially your fault. Determining fault can be difficult, so it’s essential to work with an experienced personal injury attorney who knows how to gather all the facts and present convincing evidence in your case.
At Crosley Law, our attorneys have years of experience successfully handling challenging personal injury cases, including car crash claims. To schedule your free consultation with an attorney from our team, please complete this brief online contact form or call us at 210-LAW-3000 | 210-529-3000.
The content provided here is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject.
Related ArticlesView All Blog Articles
Can I Get Compensation for Emotional Distress in Texas After a Car Accident?Jun 10, 2021
Emotional distress might be one of the most misunderstood elements of a car accident claim. You’ve probably heard a lot about “pain and suffering,” and “emotional distress,” but there’s a lot of conflicting information out there about this element of a personal injury claim. We want to clear up any misunderstandings you might have. Crosley […]
Burned in a Car Crash? Here’s What You Need to KnowJun 10, 2021
It’s not uncommon to suffer a serious burn during a car accident, especially if you’re exposed to heat, toxic chemicals, or electricity during the crash. While some burn injuries heal quickly, others require intensive, ongoing medical care and can cause permanent disfigurement. A burn injury claim can also lead to a significant settlement amount for the victim. Learn more below about these […]
How Medical Bills Are Paid After a Car Accident in TexasMay 03, 2021
Dealing with the aftermath of an auto accident can be frustrating and complicated. Many factors affect how you need to move forward: Do you have health insurance? Who was at fault? What kind of auto insurance did both drivers have? How severe were the injuries? Where did you seek medical care? The answers to these […]
Denied Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Compensation? Here’s What You Can DoApr 26, 2021
There are about 1.2 million uninsured drivers on Texas’ roads, and millions more only have the state-required minimum in insurance coverage. Unfortunately, if you are in a crash and the negligent driver doesn’t have enough (or any) auto insurance, you may have a hard time earning compensation for your injuries or property damage. Crosley Law’s […]
How to Prove Negligence in a Personal Injury ClaimApr 19, 2021
Life can feel chaotic after a car accident or another catastrophic injury. You’re trying to balance doctor’s appointments, manage your growing pile of bills, and dealing with your family’s pain, fear, and loss. It’s no surprise that collecting evidence and strengthening your personal injury claims isn’t a top priority. However, you won’t get fair compensation […]
Parking Lot Crashes: Who Has the Right of Way (and Who Is to Blame)?Apr 06, 2021
All parking lot car accidents are minor fender benders, right? Think again. Pedestrians and other vulnerable road users are often injured in parking lot crashes when a distracted or reckless driver breaks the rules. Unfortunately, many people don’t take parking lot safety seriously—or mistakenly think that Texas’ rules of the road don’t apply in parking garages and lots. Our injury lawyers have helped many crash […]
How Do I Prepare for an “Independent Medical Examination?”Apr 05, 2021
If you’re involved in a car accident lawsuit or another personal injury claim, the insurance company might schedule an “independent medical examination” (IME) for you. However, these exams are rarely independent or neutral. Instead, the adjuster is scheduling your exam with a doctor they trust—one whose reports consistently favor the insurer and might weaken your […]
Who Is at Fault in a T-Bone Car Accident?Mar 22, 2021
T-bone car accidents are dramatic, dangerous, and common — which is why they are so often depicted in films and television. Yet, while these crashes can make for good entertainment, no one ever wants to experience one in real life. Common injuries from T-bone accidents include brain injuries, spinal cord injuries, crushed and amputated limbs, […]
Car Accidents and Broken Bones: How Much Is My Case Worth?Mar 02, 2021
Broken bones are common during car accidents. The forces during a collision can shatter bones in our back, legs, pelvis, and other areas, causing pain and severe limitations. And while some broken bones heal relatively quickly, these injuries can also become complicated and lead to permanent disability. Our team of experienced personal injury lawyers helps […]
Can I Get Compensation for a Knee Injury from a Car Accident?Mar 02, 2021
Knee injuries from car accidents are one of the most common reasons people file personal injury lawsuits. There are three main reasons for this: Our knees are especially susceptible to injuries in a car accident because they rest underneath or against the dashboard. Knee injuries are often more severe than other injuries and can seriously impact our mobility. Knee injuries often worsen over time and can even turn into life-altering […]
Do you or a family member
need legal advice?
Crosley Law Firm, PC is a professional corporation of trial lawyers focused on representing individuals and families who have suffered serious personal injuries or wrongful death. If you’ve been injured, fill out the form for a free consultation, or call 210-LAW-3000.