Jun 09, 2017 Vehicle Wrecks
Summer is upon us, which means many people are taking family vacations and spending additional time on the road. While you are out driving, you may notice an increase in the number vehicles with out-of-state license plates here in Texas; our state attracted nearly 233.5 million domestic visitors in 2013 and ranks within the top five states in the country for domestic travel. Our hometown of San Antonio even ranked as the 21st most popular travel destination in the United States in 2014.
Along with all this increased travel comes an increased risk of being in a collision. Maybe you’re playing a game with your kids while you’re on the road to see who can spot license plates from different states. Then, out of nowhere, you’re hit by an out-of-state driver.
Immediately after the crash, your mind may begin to race as you ask yourself questions about injuries, property damage, medical bills, insurance coverage, and how the other driver’s out-of-state status may impact your ability to receive compensation for medical or repair bills.
Below, we’ll discuss one of the most important factors when you have been in a car accident with an out-of-state driver: auto insurance policy limits.
The Out-of-State Driver’s Policy Limits Will Increase to Meet Texas’ Minimum Coverage Requirements
Most auto insurance policies contain a clause that provides for interstate coverage if you’re traveling across state lines. If the state the at-fault driver is from has lower minimum insurance requirements than Texas, then the policy amount that driver carries typically increases to the amount required by Texas law. Why? Texas law applies to out-of-state vehicles involved in an accident in Texas with a Texas resident — not the state where the at-fault driver’s policy was issued.
In fact, Texas has higher minimum liability requirements than most states, but not all insurance adjusters understand how Texas law applies to your liability limits in the event of a car accident.
Here is an example of how this might work. New Mexico’s minimum state liability limits are lower than Texas’; liability coverage in New Mexio is $25,000 of bodily injury protection per person, $50,000 of bodily injury protection per accident, and $10,000 of property damage per accident. As shorthand, we refer to those limits as 25/50/10. If a New Mexico driver is at fault for an accident in Texas with a Texas resident, that driver’s auto insurance will increase coverage to meet Texas’ higher minimum requirements of 30/60/25, an increase of $5,000 per person, $10,000 per accident, and $15,000 for property damage. This increase can be particularly helpful to cover substantial medical expenses or large amounts of property damage.
The extension of coverage most often applies to minimum liability limit situations. On the other hand, if the at-fault driver’s auto insurance policy provides for higher liability limits (for example, if a Texas driver hit a New Mexico driver in New Mexico), then the higher policy limits apply and not the state minimum requirements.
Crosley Law Firm: Here to Help You After a Car Accident
Navigating through the auto insurance claims process can be overwhelming, and it can be difficult to figure out what the other driver’s coverage provides if they are from a different state. Trying to get compensation for your damaged car and medical bills can be even more difficult when an insurance adjuster doesn’t know how out-of-state auto coverage works or when an adjuster tries to lowball an offer to quickly resolve your claim by telling you that lower policy limits apply.
Ultimately, the last thing you should have to worry about after you’ve been injured in a car accident is managing an auto insurance claim or whether you’re being told correct information about insurance coverage.
If you’re struggling to understand how coverage applies to you or someone you love after being injured in a car accident (especially if the crash involved an out-of-state driver), please contact Crosley Law Firm for a free consultation by filling out our convenient online form or calling 210-LAW-3000.
Compulsory auto/uninsured motorists. (2017, April). Insurance Information Institute. Retrieved from http://www.iii.org/issue-update/compulsory-auto-uninsured-motorists
Fechter, J. (2014, September 28). Report: San Antonio ranks no. 21 for U.S. tourism destinations. MySA. Retrieved from http://www.mysanantonio.com/news/local/article/Report-San-Antonio-ranks-No-21-for-U-S-tourism-5780861.php
Office of the Governor. (2015, July). Overview of the Texas economy: Current state economic and demographic trends. Retrieved from http://gov.texas.gov/files/ecodev/texas-economic-overview.pdf
Polland, J. (2014, October 30). A detailed look at how Americans travel within the US. Business Insider. Retrieved from http://www.businessinsider.com/the-most-popular-us-states-for-tourism-2014-10
The content provided here is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject.
Related ArticlesView All Blog Articles
What Is the Average Payout for a Rear-End Collision?Mar 13, 2023
You were stopped at a red light, minding your own business. Suddenly, a truck rear-ends you, pushing your car into the middle of an intersection. Now, you’re living with severe back pain and your doctors are suggesting surgery. Your car accident case is worth a lot of money, right? Maybe. The reality is, there’s no […]
Who Is at Fault in a Multi-Car Accident in Texas?Mar 09, 2023
After a multi-car accident, drivers and insurance companies often point fingers at each other, trying to shift blame to someone else. But if you suffered life-changing injuries, you deserve to know exactly what happened, which driver (or drivers) were responsible, and which liability insurance will pay for your medical bills and other damages. But getting […]
I’m Being Blamed for a Car Accident That Wasn’t My Fault—What Should I Do?Feb 22, 2023
“My word against your word” scenarios happen all the time after auto accidents, especially when there are few other witnesses at the scene. Being accused of causing a car crash that wasn’t your fault can make you feel helpless and angry, especially when no one else is around to support your story. Getting blamed for […]
What Is the Texas Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury (and When Should I File My Lawsuit)?Feb 01, 2023
One of the first questions many people have an injury is, “How long do I have to make a personal injury claim?” While that’s an extremely important piece of information to know, it can also be misleading—and in some ways, the wrong question to ask. Here’s the short answer: In most cases, you have two […]
Who Is At Fault in an Intersection Accident?Jan 15, 2023
Most car accidents happen at intersections, plain and simple. According to the Federal Highway Administration, roughly half of car accident injuries and one-quarter of car accident fatalities occur at intersections. But it can be difficult to determine who is at fault in an intersection accident—with many turning into a “he said, she said” situation. In […]
What Should You Do After a FedEx Truck Crash in Texas?Dec 09, 2022
With more than 100,000 vehicles, nearly 125,000 drivers, and an annual revenue estimated at around $84 billion, FedEx is easily one of the largest trucking companies in the United States. With numbers like these, it’s no surprise that FedEx freight trucks are involved in injury-causing truck crashes nearly every day on American roads. In fact, […]
What Happens if You Get in an Accident With a Delivery Truck Driver?Nov 01, 2022
If your neighborhood is anything like ours, chances are you see a steady stream of delivery trucks, vans, and other vehicles pass by your house or apartment on a daily basis. The trend really took off at the start of the COVID-19 pandemic, but it certainly shows no sign of slowing down anytime soon. Nowadays, […]
How to Prepare for a Deposition in a Texas Personal Injury CaseOct 24, 2022
If you’ve suffered a personal injury that wasn’t your fault and you need to file a civil lawsuit to get the compensation you deserve, sooner or later you will likely have to provide your personal testimony in a deposition. Although depositions are not given before a judge, the things that you say will be considered […]
The Dangers of 15-Passenger Vans (and What to Do After a Passenger Van Accident)Oct 10, 2022
Traffic safety experts and auto manufacturers have known for decades that large passenger vans are especially likely to be involved in certain kinds of serious crashes. While these vans are a convenient way to transport groups of people, larger vehicles require a greater degree of driving skill to operate safely—particularly when fully loaded with passengers […]
U-Turn Laws in Texas: Who’s at Fault After a Crash?Aug 24, 2022
There’s a lot of confusion about Texas’ U-turn laws. While U-turns are generally legal in Texas and a convenient way to quickly change direction, they’re also known for leading to numerous car accidents. If you’ve been involved in a U-turn accident, it might not be immediately clear who is at fault. First, although the driver […]
Do you or a family member
need legal advice?
Crosley Law Firm, PC is a professional corporation of trial lawyers focused on representing individuals and families who have suffered serious personal injuries or wrongful death. If you’ve been injured, fill out the form for a free consultation, or call 210-LAW-3000.