A Visitor’s Guide to Texas Injury Law
Spring is here and tourist season is fast approaching for the busy city of San Antonio. With beautiful sights to see and fun places to visit, it’s no wonder that the city attracts millions of visitors a year. Unfortunately, it was also the home of 44,000 total crashes in 2017, and it’s important to know what to do if you get into a car wreck while visiting our bustling city.
“Under Texas law, the driver who caused the accident is liable for your damages, including your medical bills and lost income.”
Every state has its own injury laws and procedures, and it’s crucial that you contact a local personal injury law firm with a strong grasp of these specific laws. Keep reading to learn some of the essentials of Texas injury law.
4 Things You Need to Know About Car Accidents in Texas
If you were injured by a Texas driver, you’ll typically have to file a Texas personal injury claim. That means you’ll need to consult with a lawyer that is licensed to practice in Texas, like the team at Crosley Law.
While every injury claim is different, here are four points to keep in mind if you are going to file a personal injury claim in Texas.
Texas Is an At-Fault State
Under Texas law, the driver who caused the accident is liable for your damages, including your medical bills and lost income. If you’re from a no-fault state, like Florida or Michigan, you may be unaccustomed to our fault-based system.
If You Were Partially At Fault, the Insurance Company Could Reduce Your Damages
Texas applies a theory of modified comparative negligence in injury claims, so the insurance company can reduce your compensation by the percent of blame you hold for the crash. In other words, if you are 10% at fault for a collision, you are only entitled to 90% of your compensation. Additionally, if you are more than 50% at fault, you can’t collect any compensation for your injuries.
RELATED ARTICLE: Can I Recover Damages if I Contributed to a Car Accident?
Texas Has a Two-Year Statute of Limitations for Personal Injury Lawsuits
One crucial piece of information to know if you get in a car wreck is the state’s personal injury statute of limitations. If you file a lawsuit after the statute of limitations expires, you may lose your right to compensation.
In Texas, there is a two-year statute of limitations for personal injury lawsuits, meaning you have two years after a car crash to file your injury claim.
All Texas Car Owners Must Carry a Minimum Amount of Liability Insurance
Texas’ car owners are legally required to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage on their vehicles: at least $30,000 per person for bodily injuries, with a maximum of $60,000 per crash, and $25,000 for property damage. Other types of insurance, such as collision, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and personal injury protection (PIP), are available but not required under state law.
If they only have Texas’ mandatory policy limits, a negligent driver may not have enough coverage to pay for all your damages. You will need to speak to a personal injury attorney about your options for recovering any remaining damages.
Your Post-Accident Itinerary
Here are some general tips for what to do immediately following your accident.
1. Report the Accident to the Police
Unless the accident was minor enough to cause almost no damage, Texas law requires you to notify the police so that they can fill out a crash report. If possible, it is a good idea to obtain a copy of that report for future use.
2. Collect the Driver’s Information
The next thing you need to do after an accident is to collect all the relevant information from the other driver. This information includes:
- Personal: Name, address, phone, and email
- License: Driver’s license and license plate number
- Insurance: Insurance company and policy number
3. Assemble Witness and Damage Evidence
Ask any witnesses for their name and contact information so that their testimony can be used as evidence later, if needed. Additionally, take pictures of the crash scene, your injuries, and the damage to the vehicles involved.
4. Avoid Admitting Any Fault
Do not admit fault to the other driver, police officers on the scene, or witnesses. Even a simple statement such as, “I’m so sorry, I didn’t see you,” could be used against you later when determining what percent of the crash was your fault.
5. Contact a San Antonio Personal Injury Attorney
Insurance companies are not on your side. They will use any possible means to avoid having to pay your claim. Before you call or speak to any insurance agent—whether they represent you or the other driver—contact a San Antonio personal injury attorney.
RELATED ARTICLE: Fight These Four Common Insurance Tricks After A Car Accident
Crosley Law | San Antonio’s Personal Injury Team
A serious crash will bring your vacation plans to an abrupt stop. Although your trip to San Antonio may be ruined, speaking with a local personal injury attorney can help ensure the accident doesn’t ruin the rest of your life as well.
At Crosley Law, we focus on Texas personal injury lawsuits and use our extensive knowledge of local cases and Texas law to maximize our clients’ accident compensation. If you’ve been in a serious accident while visiting San Antonio, contact us today at 210-LAW-3000 | 210-529-3000 or online for your free consultation to getting your life back on track.
Crashes and Injuries: Cities and Towns. (2018, April). Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT). Retrieved from
The content provided here is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject.
Related ArticlesView All Blog Articles
Car vs. Pedestrian: Who Is at Fault for the Accident?May 10, 2022
No amount of money will erase the emotional trauma of being in a car crash as a pedestrian. However, fair compensation for your suffering and financial costs is one way you can begin to rebuild your life and find some closure. Securing that fair compensation might be more complicated than you’d expect, however—especially when you’re […]
Is it Worth Hiring a Personal Injury Lawyer?Apr 22, 2022
There are a lot of misconceptions out there about personal injury attorneys. Many people are reluctant to seek out legal representation after a car or truck accident, or even medical malpractice, because of stories they’ve heard or what they’ve seen on TV. Often, they’re particularly concerned about the costs associated with hiring a personal injury […]
Texas Personal Injury Law Changes: Texas Tort ReformApr 19, 2022
Unexpected accidents happen more frequently than most of us like to admit. Car wrecks, workplace injuries, even major trucking crashes occur every day. Often, these unexpected tragedies were preventable, if only someone had put down their phone while driving, promptly addressed a workplace safety issue, or performed their required duties. In the eyes of the […]
What Is a Medical Lien—and How Will it Affect My Personal Injury Settlement?Apr 06, 2022
We probably don’t have to tell you that dealing with medical bills, insurance companies, and a mountain of paperwork is not easy—especially when you’re also trying to recover from the injury that caused it all. If you’ve made a personal injury claim, you may be wondering how long it will take to get the compensation […]
How to Negotiate a Settlement With an Insurance AdjusterMar 23, 2022
Whether you find negotiations intimidating or exciting, taking on an insurance company after a car accident or other incident can be a roller coaster of emotion for you and your family — especially if one of you is healing from serious injuries. If your life was negatively affected due to someone else’s negligence or recklessness, […]
NEC Baby Formula Lawsuit: What Parents Need to KnowMar 14, 2022
For years, Similac and Enfamil were popular baby formulas, often given to premature babies in NICUs. However, for decades, there has been research suggesting that cow’s milk-based formulas can make premature infants ill. Our personal injury lawyers are helping children and families who have been harmed by NEC and other conditions related to the consumption of Similac […]
Protecting Yourself: A Comprehensive Personal Injury Settlement GuideMar 11, 2022
When you’re going through a tough recovery after an injury and facing an uncertain future, the last thing you want to worry about is whether you’re getting cheated by your insurance company. Filing a personal injury claim can be stressful and frustrating enough on its own. When you finally see a settlement offer, it can […]
Depression After a Car Accident: Common Causes and SymptomsFeb 14, 2022
A car accident can turn you and your loved one’s lives upside down. Car accidents can lead to financial, physical, mental, and emotional hardships for victims and their families. After you experience a devastating accident, it is important to call an experienced personal injury attorney so you can get the compensation you deserve to help […]
How Do Car Accident Settlements Work?Feb 01, 2022
After a car wreck, the at-fault driver’s insurance company might offer you a quick settlement. They might even tell you that it’s not worth it to hire a San Antonio car accident attorney. It can be hard to decide what to do or where to turn to. You deserve compensation for your injuries, and the […]
5 Common Bicycle Accident Injuries: How a San Antonio Bicycle Accident Lawyer Can HelpJan 31, 2022
As avid cyclists, the team at Crosley Law knows how satisfying—and dangerous—bicycles can be. While it’s always in your best interest to use protective equipment and follow all local ordinances, even careful cyclists can end up with serious injuries after bicycle accidents with cars, trucks, and commercial vehicles. Our San Antonio personal injury lawyers represent […]
Do you or a family member
need legal advice?
Crosley Law Firm, PC is a professional corporation of trial lawyers focused on representing individuals and families who have suffered serious personal injuries or wrongful death. If you’ve been injured, fill out the form for a free consultation, or call 210-LAW-3000.