- 1. Texas Is a Modified Comparative Negligence State
- 2. Simple Examples of How Contributory and Comparative Negligence Can Affect Compensation
- 3. Fight Back Against Victim-Blaming With Compelling Evidence
- 4. PIP Insurance: No-Fault Insurance Coverage in Texas
- 5. Crosley Law: Standing Up for Texas Crash Victims
How Does Texas Personal Injury Law Deal With Contributory Negligence?
If a distracted driver rear-ends your vehicle while you’re fully stopped at a red light, the causes of the crash may seem straightforward — at least at first.
Sometimes, a single action causes a car crash. However, many wrecks are more complicated and involve multiple at-fault parties. You may even have made a minor mistake that contributed to the “accident.”
When numerous people or other entities (like companies) contribute to your car accident, it can be difficult to sort out who is financially responsible, and how much each of them owes you for your injuries. In this article, Crosley Law outlines Texas’ approach to contributory negligence and explain how you can fight back against victim-blaming.
Texas Is a Modified Comparative Negligence State
The short answer to the question posed by the title of this blog—how Texas deals with contributory negligence—is that it doesn’t. In Texas, contributory negligence is not the standard. A modified version of comparative negligence is used instead.
While the terms “contributory negligence” and “comparative negligence” might sound similar or even interchangeable to you, they have very specific legal definitions—and can affect whether you can get any compensation after an accident with multiple partially responsible parties.
Let’s take a closer look at what all these terms really mean.
What Is Negligence?
Most Texas car and truck crashes involve negligence. While the average person may define “negligence” as being careless or sloppy, the law has a more precise definition. Under Texas law, someone is “at fault” or “negligent” if they:
- Owed you a duty of care, such as an obligation to follow Texas’ rules of the road and look out for potential hazards
- Violated this duty of care and caused your injuries
- You suffered damages, such as lost income, pain and suffering, and medical bills
If you cannot prove one or more of these elements, you do not have a negligence claim.
For example, suppose a drunk driver rolls through a stop sign. Thankfully, you avoid the collision by making a quick lane change, and you and your vehicle are unharmed. While the drunk driver violated a duty of care, you don’t have a negligence claim because you did not suffer injuries or damages.
What Is Contributory Negligence?
Pure contributory negligence is an extremely strict standard. Under this standard, anyone who contributes to an accident—even in a very minor way—is completely shut out from any chance at compensation. That means even if a jury only finds you 5 or 10 percent responsible, you can’t recover anything.
Fortunately, most states (including Texas) recognize that this is an unfair and impractical standard, so it isn’t used here.
What Is Comparative Negligence?
Comparative negligence allows injured individuals to recover a portion of their medical bills, lost wages, and other damages even if their own negligence was partially a factor. The amount of compensation you can recover will be your damages reduced by whatever percentage of fault you’re determined to share. For example, if you claim $100,000 in damages and are found to be 10% at fault, you can only recover $90,000 in compensation.
Texas Negligence Laws Set a 51% Bar For Comparative Negligence
While Texas is a comparative fault state, our laws add another level of complexity to the rule. We use a modified comparative fault rule that limits an at-fault driver’s ability to recover damages. Called the 51% bar, this rule says you cannot receive compensation if you were 51% or more to blame for the crash. In other words, if you are more than 50% at fault, you lose and would get nothing.
This 51% bar might sound unfavorable to plaintiffs, but at least it eliminates counter-lawsuits by the at-fault party, who might otherwise argue that driving 5 mph over the speed limit makes you liable for a portion of their injuries.
To better understand these differences, let’s look at a specific example.
Simple Examples of How Contributory and Comparative Negligence Can Affect Compensation
Example 1: A Drunk Driver and a Defective Product Contribute to Your Wreck
Suppose you’re approaching an intersection. You have the right of way, and you cruise into the intersection, going 5 mph over the speed limit. Suddenly, a drunk driver blasts through a stop sign, going 20 mph over the speed limit. During the impact, your seatbelt fails, causing serious injuries.
In this case, the bulk of the blame falls on the reckless driver who ignored the stop sign. But your speeding may have also played a role, and so did that defective seatbelt. Let’s say a court decides the fault as follows:
- The other driver is 60% responsible due to reckless behavior
- Your car’s manufacturer is 35% responsible due to the defective seatbelt
- You are 5% responsible for speeding
Your right to compensation may depend on which state’s law apply.
- Under contributory negligence, you cannot recover anything since you were partially to blame.
- Under comparative negligence (modified or otherwise), the compensation you can recover will be reduced by your percentage of fault. So, in this case, if you had $200,000 worth of damages, you could get $190,000 in compensation (95% of $200,000).
Example 2: Both You and the Other Driver Broke the Rules of the Road
Suppose you have the same situation as above, but without the seatbelt failure. In this case, the two drivers are the only responsible parties. Let’s say that the court finds the drunk driver 90% responsible, while it finds you to be 10% at fault.
Both you and the other driver are injured, and suffer damages of $100,000 each.
- Under contributory negligence, neither of you can recover anything, because you’re both at least partially responsible.
- Under pure comparative fault, the drunk driver is liable for $90,000 of your damages ($100,000 minus 10 percent), while you are liable for $10,000 of their damages ($100,000 minus 90 percent).
- Under Texas’ modified comparative negligence law, you can recover $90,000 in compensation, while the drunk driver cannot recover anything from you due to being more than 50% at fault.
Fight Back Against Victim-Blaming With Compelling Evidence
Insurance companies, in an attempt to reduce victims’ compensation, will often unfairly blame the injured party for causing a crash. Sometimes, there’s an inaccuracy in the police report that leads to victim-blaming. Other times, you’re caught in a “he said, she said” battle with the negligent driver. In either situation, you’ll need compelling evidence and help from a skilled lawyer to clarify the facts of your case.
At Crosley Law, we have a long history of using cutting-edge technology and strategies to fight for our clients. We carefully study the facts surrounding our clients’ personal injury claims, reviewing police reports, interviewing witnesses, preserving electronic data from vehicles and surveillance footage, and consulting with crash reconstruction experts.
For example, commercial vehicles like large trucks and buses often contain sophisticated systems that track the driver’s every move. These systems may include sensors that identify exactly when a driver hits the brakes or veers out of a lane, as well as the driver’s speed and even their in-car behaviors. Records from these systems can help you pinpoint the exact causes of your crash and hold the correct parties responsible.
However, if you don’t act quickly, it’s easy to lose some of this evidence, making it much more difficult to prove negligence. Businesses don’t keep their security camera footage, vehicle black box data, and cell phone data forever. That’s why our personal injury attorneys act quickly to identify these essential records and send letters that preserve them for our clients’ claims.
For example, we represented a mother after her child, Amanda, died in a truck accident. At the scene of the crash, the trucker claimed that Amanda had run a red light. However, the college student had a history of being a very responsible driver, and this seemed out of character.
Our personal injury lawyers went to work right away, preserving the semi-truck’s dashcams, logbooks, and other evidence. We uncovered shocking footage of the truck—not Amanda—running a red light and violently striking her vehicle. To make matters worse, the truck driver didn’t bother to hit the brakes until after the collision.
We negotiated a $9 million settlement for Amanda’s family.
PIP Insurance: No-Fault Insurance Coverage in Texas
In addition to liability coverage, most drivers in Texas have at least some personal injury protection (PIP) coverage. (You should have PIP coverage unless you declined it in writing.) Unlike your traditional liability policy, PIP is a type of no-fault coverage.
Regardless of who caused your crash, a PIP policy will help pay for your and your passenger’s losses, including:
- Medical bills, including hospital, nursing, and rehabilitation services
- Ambulance and EMS expenses
- Medical equipment you need, like crutches, wheelchairs, and prosthetics
- Lost income
- Replacement services, such as the cost of housekeeping if you can no longer perform these duties
- Funeral and burial expenses
Many people are surprised to discover that they have this coverage, which covers both you and any family members who live with you.
You can file a PIP claim in addition to other personal injury claims that you might have against at-fault parties. Filing a PIP claim can help you get the compensation you deserve. Notably, the insurance companies cannot reduce or offset your liability payments by the amount you receive in PIP benefits.
For example, suppose you have $40,000 in damages. The negligent driver has a minimum policy that pays out $30,000 per person, and you have $10,000 in PIP coverage. You could demand the at-fault driver’s policy limits and then file a claim with your PIP insurer for the remainder — and the at-fault driver can’t demand a discount because you received benefits from PIP coverage.
Crosley Law: Standing Up for Texas Crash Victims
At Crosley Law, we aggressively fight for our clients and do what’s right. We know that insurance companies try to use Texas’ comparative fault laws to reduce or eliminate victims’ compensation, so we fight back with the facts. If you or a loved one suffered serious injuries in a car crash or commercial vehicle wreck, contact our law firm today.
The content provided here is for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice on any subject.
Related ArticlesView All Blog Articles
Who is at fault in a T-bone accident in Texas?Feb 02, 2024
If you have been involved in a T-bone car accident, read this blog to learn who could be at-fault and how Crosley Law can help.
Understanding Personal Injury MediationJan 31, 2024
Personal injury mediation is an alternative dispute resolution process that can help both sides in a personal injury case negotiate a settlement and avoid a trial.
What Is the Wrongful Death Statute of Limitations in Texas?Dec 21, 2023
If you’ve recently lost a loved one due to someone else’s negligence, certain surviving family members may be entitled to recover compensation for funeral and burial expenses, lost income and financial support, loss of companionship and guidance, mental anguish, and other losses. However, you only have a limited amount of time to file a wrongful […]
Mild Traumatic Brain Injury Settlements: How Much Is My TBI Case Worth?Dec 16, 2023
Few injuries have the ability to profoundly alter the course of someone’s life the way that a traumatic brain injury (TBI) can. Although every TBI is different, common symptoms include sleep disorders, memory loss, inability to concentrate, post-traumatic stress disorder, or even changes in personality. Skills you spent a lifetime acquiring might be gone. Relationships […]
Does Health Insurance Cover Car Accidents in Texas?Dec 13, 2023
After an auto accident, medical bills start to pile up quickly. Even if all you need is a quick trip to the emergency room and a couple follow-up appointments with a specialist, your medical expenses could still be enough to cause economic hardship. You may have heard that, in Texas, the at-fault driver is supposed […]
Quick Guide to Car Accident Face Injuries and Your Personal Injury ClaimDec 07, 2023
Facial trauma is an all-too-common yet often overlooked injury in San Antonio auto collisions. The head, face, and neck are all incredibly vulnerable in high-impact motor vehicle collisions. Whether from the initial impact, shattered glass, deployment of airbags, or being thrust into the interior of the vehicle, drivers and passengers frequently sustain painful and serious […]
Delayed Concussion Symptoms and Post-Concussion Syndrome Following a Motor Vehicle Crash: The Lingering ImpactJul 12, 2023
Concussions are among the most frequent injuries brought on by car accidents. Unfortunately, sometimes even “mild” concussions can have disastrous effects. While many people fully recover from their concussion, a significant percentage (roughly 15 to 20 percent) still experience persistent post-concussion symptoms months or even years after the initial head injury. And because concussion symptoms […]
How to Deal With a Private Investigator After a Car AccidentApr 21, 2023
After a car wreck, you may feel like your every move is being scrutinized. Unfortunately, it may not be just your imagination. If you notice an unfamiliar car parked in front of your home, school, or workplace; or if you receive a strange friend request on social media, a private investigator might be tracking your […]
What Is the Average Payout for a Rear-End Collision?Mar 13, 2023
You were stopped at a red light, minding your own business. Suddenly, a truck rear-ends you, pushing your car into the middle of an intersection. Now, you’re living with severe back pain and your doctors are suggesting surgery. Your car accident case is worth a lot of money, right? Maybe. The reality is, there’s no […]
I’m Being Blamed for a Car Accident That Wasn’t My Fault—What Should I Do?Feb 22, 2023
“My word against your word” scenarios happen all the time after auto accidents, especially when there are few other witnesses at the scene. Being accused of causing a car crash that wasn’t your fault can make you feel helpless and angry, especially when no one else is around to support your story. Getting blamed for […]
Do you or a family member
need legal advice?
Crosley Law Firm, PC is a professional corporation of trial lawyers focused on representing individuals and families who have suffered serious personal injuries or wrongful death.